Winneshiek County Auditor Ben Steines has released the list of all candidates who have filed in Winneshiek County to run during the 2013 regular city elections Nov. 5.

There will be one polling site each in Calmar, Castalia, Fort Atkinson, Jackson Junction, Ossian, Ridgeway and Spillville) will have one polling location that will be open from noon-8 p.m.

The city of Decorah will have five polling locations (one for each ward), which will be open from 7 a.m. - 8 p.m.

Absentee balloting will begin during normal business hours in the Auditor's office as soon as the ballots are available, in 10 - 14 days.

Additional information will be forthcoming in a future press release.

For more information, call 563-382-5085.


Residents running for office in Calmar include: Keith Frana, mayor; and Aaron Brincks, Dennis Kleve, Pat Nervig, T.J. Schissel and Chris Wiltgen (for two available city council positions).


Candidates running in Castalia include: Margaret Jones, mayor and Joseph Moellers and Jamie Smith, councilperson (two available city council positions).


In Decorah, both Incumbent Don Arendt and Jim McIntosh are running for mayor. Gary Rustad is uncontested for the at-large seat and Randy Schissel and Jarrad Walter are running for Ward 1.

Jody Niess, Ward 2, and Paul Wanless, Ward 3, will both run uncontested races, as will Cindy Albers, who serves on the Parks and Recreation Board.

Matthew Gausmann and Bill Wagner are competing for the Ward 4 seat, and Charles Lore and Marion Pruitt-Jefferson have taken out papers for the Ward 5 seat.

Fort Atkinson

In Fort Atkinson, Allen Blong, Michelle Elsbernd, Robert Glass and Kevin Karnik will compete for two four-year terms. No one has filed papers to run for a vacant two-year term, which will be filled by write-in.

Jackson Junction

In Jackson Junction, Mayor Mae Schmitt will run again, and five candidates have taken out papers to run for five open city council seats.

Candidates include Ken Kriener, Art Perry, Richard Vrzak, Rodney Vrzak and Leon Warnke.


Ossian Mayor Chuck Covell is running again, and Mitchell Holthaus, Mike Meyer, Ree Meyer and Karl Schroeder have taken out papers to run for two available seats on the Council.


There will be no contests in Ridgeway, as Paul Stevens is the sole candidate for mayor, and Scott Engelhardt and Ethan Novotny are running for two open seats.


In Spillville, no one has filed papers for the position of mayor, which will be filled by write-in.

Two candidates, Scott Balik and Tom Straube, are running for three positions. The third will be filled by write-in.