Winneshiek County is among 10 Iowa counties to receive a Presidential Disaster Declaration.

Iowa Gov. Terry Branstad was informed Thursday that President Barack Obama approved his request for a Presidential Disaster Declaration for the Iowa counties impacted by severe weather in June.

In addition to Winneshiek, the counties are: Allamakee, Benton, Buchanan, Butler, Cedar, Clayton, Delaware, Howard and Jones.

The governor sent the request for the declaration on July 18 in response to significant damage that was caused by severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that began June 21 and continued through June 28. This is the state's fourth Presidential Disaster Declaration for 2013.

The declaration by the president will provide federal funding to the declared counties under the Public Assistance Program. A Presidential Major Disaster Declaration for Public Assistance puts into motion long-term federal recovery programs, some of which are matched by state programs and designed to help public entities and select non-profits.

Public Assistance funds may be used for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities and may include debris removal, emergency protective measures, repair of damaged public property, loans needed by communities for essential government functions and grants for public schools.

The governor also received notification that the Presidential Disaster Declaration includes funding to conduct hazard mitigation activities for the entire state. With this funding, Iowa will be able to minimize the impact of future disasters by taking steps now to strengthen existing infrastructure.

This Presidential Disaster Declaration is the 18th Iowa has received since March 2007.