Only one incumbent, John Logsdon, was re-elected to the Winneshiek County Board of Supervisors Tuesday.

The other three Board members who sought re-election, including Republican Board Chairman Les Askelson of Decorah, were defeated.

A record eighty-five percent of the county's 13,049 registered voters participated in Tuesday's general election. A total of 11,141 ballots were cast, including a record 5,867 absentee ballots. There were about 5,000 absentee votes in Winneshiek County in the 2008 general election

Logsdon, a Republican, defeated Democrat Clark Goltz, 1,152 (56 percent) to 913 (44 percent) in District 4.

Askelson, a 20-year member of the Board, was defeated by Dean Thompson of Decorah, 936 votes, 54 percent; to 791, 46 percent; in the District 3 race.

Incumbent Supervisor Steve Bouska did not seek re-election. All five supervisors were up for election after supervisor districts were redrawn following the 2010 census. Bouska and Logsdon both live in the new District 4. None of the supervisors lives in the new District 2.

Incumbent Bill Ibanez, a Democrat, was defeated by Republican Dennis Karlsbroten, in District 1. Karlsbroten received 1,069 votes (47 percent), Ibanez received 1,028 votes, 45 percent, and Bob Watson of rural Decorah (nominated by petition) received 175 votes, 8 percent.

District 5 incumbent Republican Lonnie Pierce was defeated. He received 999 votes, 46 percent; while Democratic challenger Mark Kuhn received 1,153 votes, 54 percent.

In District 2, Republican Floyd Ashbacher won with 1,175 votes (49 percent). Democrat Rachel Vagts received 1,072 votes, 44 percent, and John Franzen, who was nominated by petition, received 165 votes, 7 percent.

Sheriff, auditor

Sheriff Lee Bohr, a Republican, was re-elected with 6,841 votes, 71 percent. His opponent, Chuck Ihde, an independent, received 2,736 votes, 29 percent.

Winneshiek County Auditor Ben Steines, a Republican, was unopposed Tuesday. He received 8,445 votes; there were 78 write-in votes cast.

Hospital Board

Two new members were elected to the Winneshiek Medical Center Board of Trustees. Steve Hildebrand received the most votes, 4,586 (33 percent). Karl Jacobsen also was elected to the Board with 3,801 votes, 27 percent.

The other candidates were Jim Tweedy, 2,622 votes, 19 percent; and David Kratz, 2,912 votes, 21 percent.

Ran well

Steines, the county's commissioner of elections, said election day went well.

"I would like to thank my precinct election officials for a long, hard day of work, and for the excellent job they did. I was very happy with how smoothly and efficiently the election process was considering the record turnout that we experienced."

Election results will become official once they are canvassed by the Board of Supervisors Tuesday. There are 165 outstanding absentee ballots in Winneshiek County.