For the second year in a row, the South Winneshiek High School yearbook staff is being recognized for its work.

The group received the Jostens 2013 National Yearbook Program of Excellence Award.

The National Yearbook Program of Excellence designation recognizes dynamic school yearbook programs. The program recognizes yearbook staffs and advisers who create engaging yearbooks for their school communities.

The South Winneshiek High School award winning yearbook program was led by editors Eric Albertson, Alex Walz, Maggie Kuennen and Lee Balik, and Business Manager Colton Hageman, under the direction of Bridget Adam, South Winneshiek High School yearbook adviser.

Other staff members included: Mitchell Bohr, Miranda Cook, Brandon Dahl, Taylor Gerleman, Becca Franzen, Katelyn Elsbernd, Justin Elsbernd, Brandi Hageman, Ryan Hageman, Jeremy Imoehl, Kim Johnson, Blake Kuennen, Ambriehl Klimesh, Christian Kleve, Tanner Kuennen, Brennan Malanaphy, Bayley Monroe, Savannah Nesvik, Jordan Rommes, Isaac Taylor, Brittany Shindelar, Cassidy Severson, Halley Roy, Alex Upton, Luis Uribe and Kiersten Wenthold.

"The students set several goals at the beginning of the year. The whole staff strived hard throughout the year to reach the goals they set, and I am proud to say that the staff met all of their goals. It was a great group of students to work with. I am so proud of them for their hard work and dedication. This is a great honor for all of us," stated Bridget Adam, adviser.

Jostens' National Yearbook Program of Excellence awards are presented twice a year, in May for yearbooks delivered in the spring and in September for yearbooks delivered in the fall. The award was presented to the South Winneshiek High School yearbook program for achieving the defined criteria in each of three following categories: creating an inclusive yearbook, generating school engagement and successfully managing the yearbook creation process.

"Jostens believes passionately in the importance of the yearbook tradition connecting every student to the school story and the school year and we are honored to recognize these yearbook programs," said Mike Wolf, director of yearbook marketing at Jostens.

"We understand that a great yearbook program does not just happen, and we are dedicated to helping schools strengthen their programs by providing the tools and personal guidance for success. The National Yearbook Program of Excellence recognizes schools that embrace the yearbook tradition and have built a yearbook program that serves the entire school community."

The South Winneshiek yearbook program received a plaque to display in the yearbook classroom and a banner to display in the school gym, so the entire school community will be aware of the outstanding achievement. An assembly was held to present the award to Adam and her students.