There are openings on a number of area city council seats this fall. City elections are Tuesday, Nov. 5.

In Decorah, all Council members except Rachel Vagts will be up for re-election this fall. They are Gary Rustad, Paul Wanless, Carolyn Corbin, Randy Schissel, Jody Niess and Jarrad Walter. Mayor Don Arendt's term also is expiring.

The openings are in the new Ward 1, Ward 2, Ward 3, Ward 4 and Ward 5, which were redrawn due to redistricting after the 2010 census, and one at-large position. Council members serve four-year terms, but because redistricting put six members up for election this fall, the terms of Wards 2 and 4 will expire in December, 2015. Schissel and Corbin no longer live in the wards they are representing.

In Castalia, Mayor Margaret Jones' term is expiring, as are terms for Joe Moellers and Jamie Smith, who both have at-large seats.

In Ridgeway, Council members Robert Freidhof and Paul Stevens are up for re-election for their at-large seats.

Terms of Spillville Mayor Michael T. Klimesh and Spillville Council members David Timp, Manian Murphy and Ed Klimesh also are expiring.

In Fort Atkinson, terms for Robert Glass, Kevin Karnik and Michele Elsbernd are expiring. All three have taken out papers to run again and serve at-large.

Ossian Mayor Charles Covell will seek re-election, as well as Council members Ryan Becker and Marvin "Mike" Meyer. A third person, Ree Meyer, also has taken papers out to run for city council.

In Calmar, seats for Mayor Corey Meyer, Isaac Phillips and Dennis Kleve are expiring.

Candidates can begin filing nomination papers Monday, Aug. 26. The papers are due to city clerks or the county auditor's office by Thursday, Sept. 19.