County voters will head to the polls today (Tuesday, Sept. 10) to elect school board members and Northeast Iowa Community College Trustees, and to vote on renewal of a 20 ¼-cent levy at NICC.

Polls are open from noon - 8 p.m. at the following locations: Decorah - Decorah High School; North Winneshiek - North Winneshiek School; South Winneshiek - Calmar Lutheran Church; and Turkey Valley, Turkey Valley School.

No contests

There are no contested races in any of the area school board elections.

School District Board members are elected in odd-numbered years to four-year terms.

In Decorah, where all positions are at-large, incumbent Ron Fadness has announced he will pursue another term, and Decorah's Cindy Schissel is running for the position being vacated by Board Member Rick Valley.

North Winneshiek incumbents Scott Fairchild (District 2) and Myron Rediske (District 5) will run, and John Wangsness has taken out papers to run for the District 1 seat being vacated by longtime Board President Phil Richert.

At South Winneshiek, there are two candidates for three positions. Arnie Kriener, District 3, will run again, as will District 1's Wendy Mihm Herald. The District 2 spot being vacated by Allan Schmitt will be filled by write-in.

Turkey Valley has only one candidate running.

Donald Blazek Jr. will run for the District 3 seat being vacated by Dick Cuvelier. The other District 2 seat, being vacated by Linus Kuhn, will be filled by write-in.


Four incumbents plan to retain their seats on the NICC Board.

They include John Rothlisberger of Fredericksburg, District 1: Kathy Gunderson of Postville, District 2; Gene Fueling of Oelwein, District 4; and David Schueller of Peosta, District 6.

Rhonda Kirkegaard, District 9, is stepping down, and Bob Schafer of Dubuque has taken out papers to run for her seat.

NICC levy renewal

County voters will also be asked to renew a 20 1/4-cent levy, which has been in effect since the college's creation in 1966.

It is not a new levy, and the amount has not changed. For example, if a homeowner's taxable valuation of a property is $100,000, the homeowner is supporting NICC at a rate of $20.25 per year.

The levy comes up for renewal every 10 years and was last approved by voters in 2003.

The NICC District area includes the counties of Allamakee, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Howard and Winneshiek.