There will be no contested races in area school board elections Sept. 10.

School District Board members are elected in odd-numbered years to four-year terms.

In Decorah, two candidates have turned in papers to run for two at-large positions.

Incumbent Ron Fadness has announced he will pursue another term, and Decorah's Cindy Schissel is running for the position being vacated by Board Member Rick Valley who is not running again.

North Winn

At North Winneshiek School, there are three candidates for three positions.

Scott Fairchild is running for his second term representing District 2, and Myron Rediske, who has spent 12 years on the Board, will again serve District 5.

John Wangness has taken out papers to run for the District 1 position being vacated by Phil Richert, who served the North Winneshiek Board for 16 years. South Winn

At South Winneshiek, there are only two candidates for three positions.

Arnie Kriener, District 3, will run again, as will Wendy Mihm-Herold, who represents District 1.

No one has filed papers for Allan Schmitt's District 2 opening, so the position will be filled with a write-in.

Turkey Valley

At Turkey Valley, there is only one candidate for two open seats.

Donald Blazek Jr. has filed papers to run for John Cuvelier's District 3 seat. Cuvelier is stepping down after 10 years of service to the Board.

The other position, District 2, is being vacated by Linus Kuhn, who has served on the Board for the past 13 years. No one has turned in papers to replace Kuhn and the position will be filled via write-in.


Four Northeast Iowa Community College Trustees are up for election this year.

Trustees running again include John Rothlisberger of Fredericksburg, District 1; Kathy Gunderson of Postville, District 2: Gene Fueling of Oelwein, District 4 and David Schueller of Peosta, District 6.

Rhonda Kirkegaard, who has served on the NICC Board of Trustees for 15 years, has announced she will not run again for her District 9 position. Bob Schafer of Dubuque has taken out papers to replace her.

NICC Board of Trustees members are elected to four-year terms.

NICC levy renewal

NICC also will ask area voters to renew a 20¼-cent levy.

This 20¼-cent levy has been in effect since 1966 when community colleges were created. It is not a new levy and the amount has not changed. Voters in the NICC district last approved this levy in 2003.

Iowa community colleges are authorized by Iowa Code to ask voters in their districts to approve a levy for up to 10 years to help fund equipment and technology purchases, library acquisitions, utilities payments and maintenance. At its April 15 meeting, the NICC Board of Trustees approved having the levy on the Sept. 10 ballot.

The 20¼-cent levy is derived from the taxable valuation on property. For example, if a homeowner's taxable valuation of a house is $100,000, the homeowner is currently supporting NICC at $20.25 per year through this levy.

The NICC district area includes the counties of Allamakee, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Howard and Winneshiek.